Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) SIG

To join the NMR SIG, you need to login to your SPWLA account and modify your profile to indicate that you would like to become a member.

You can communicate with the executive committee of the NMR SIG by sending an email to

NMR SIG was established in September 2016, as one of the outcomes of the 2016 SPWLA Spring Topical Conference on NMR, to provide a focal organization designed to bring the NMR community of experts and practitioners together to educate each other as well as the broader community on the proven concepts and applications of NMR. The SIG will also serve as a venue to discuss new ideas for technology and applications to enhance understanding of the formations and the fluids contained in them. The SIG’s initial goals include, establishing industry standards for NMR measurements, publishing a special volume in Petrophysics with peer reviewed technical papers on NMR technologies and applications and establishing a committee to organize future SIG conferences and workshops.
Membership in the NMR SIG is open to all current members in good standing of the SPWLA at no additional fee. It is a great opportunity to learn and contribute to the advancement of NMR to formation evaluation as well as to network and work with the experts in this field.

Executive Committee:


Harry Xie (Core Lab)

Vice President

Stefan Hertel (Chevron)


Tianmin Jiang (ConocoPhillips)


Ron Bonnie (ConocoPhillips)

Publications Editor

Lu Chi (Halliburton)

At Large Members

Jinhong Chen (Aramco)

Paul Connolly (University of Western Australia)

Abraham Simanjuntak (Pertamina EP)

We look forward to your participation in the NMR SIG.